Young Driver Road Safety Awards 2019

Young driver awards 2019.jpg

The Young Driver Road Safety Awards, rewarding excellence in the road safety industry for initiatives specifically targeting the high-risk, young driver.

FirstCar launched these awards in 2015 to reward the unsung heroes in road safety, to recognise the excellent work of road safety professionals in seeking to reduce casualties amongst young drivers. They have quickly established themselves within the road safety community and are highly sought after by the professionals working within the industry.

The Young Driver Road Safety Awards 2019 are once again sponsored by Road Safety Support* (RSS) and will be presented at the Young Driver Focus conference, at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, 1 May 2019.

Entries to the six awards categories are now open: New Scheme, Education and Training Initiative; Partnership Scheme; Young Driver Media Campaign, Private Sector Initiative and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

James Evans, Founder of FirstCar, said: “We were delighted with how successful the awards are and are very keen to recognise all the hard work that goes on in this sector, which is often unrewarded.’’

Emma Kelly, Business Development and PR Manager at Road Safety Support said: “‘We need innovative projects that are well evidenced and robustly evaluated to help us to reduce collisions involving young road users.  Partnering with FirstCar via the awards are so important in assisting us to push the boundaries and share new and innovative methods.

We are excited to be supporting these prestigious awards again this year.  It is only by working together in collaboration that, ultimately, we will save lives on our roads.” 

The awards period cover campaigns, which have run 1st January - 31st December 2018 -

  • All entries must be received by 11th Feb 2019

  • The shortlist will be announced w/c 4th March 2019

  • The awards will be presented at Young Driver Focus, Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, 1st May 2019.

The awards will be judged by an independent set of industry experts -

  • Emma Kelly, Business Development and PR Manager, Road Safety Support

  • Liz Box, Head of Research, RAC Foundation

  • Tracey Fuller, CSR Manager, Arval

  • David Davies, Executive Director, PACTS

  • Sarah Scott, Deputy Head of Publishing, Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency

  • Alan Kennedy, Business & Operations Manager, Road Safety GB

  • Laura Kane, Senior Marketing Manager, Department for Transport

Download Guidance notes

Entries are free and can be made online

Download entry form

For more details about the awards categories or for more information, contact

*Road Safety Support
Road Safety Support is a not-for-profit company that provides a range of specialist services to local authorities, the police and other organisations in the UK and overseas that share our commitment to road casualty reduction. We employ a team of leading specialists to provide support in all day-to-day casualty reduction activities.